Diamond - Guide

Diamonds come in different shapes (cut) and colors (color). Below is the most common international color scale where the diamond is graded from DZ, where D is completely colorless and Z has yellow and brown shades. Choice of diamond color is individual, generally a diamond is sought to be as close to the color D (colorless) as possible and these colors are usually higher in price than those with yellow-brown shades.

Diamonds are also available in different shapes as seen below and it is individual what shape you want. There are also both natural and lab-grown/manufactured diamonds. The difference is that lab-grown diamonds are produced in a lab, while natural diamonds are not. However, it is possible to get the same quality, color and preferences for lab-grown diamonds as for natural diamonds. Lab-grown diamonds generally have a lower price than natural diamonds. Both lab-grown and natural diamonds are genuine diamonds and come with certificates of over 0.3 carats per stone.

The 4 C's, color, cut, clarity and carat

Earlier we explained color and cut, here we describe clarity and carat.

Clarity stands for clarity and diamonds are measured on a clarity scale to measure imperfections and perfections. Each diamond is unique and what you look for are particles and grains in the diamond and this is measured on a scale from FL (flawless) down to I3 (included 3). FL means that it is not possible to see imperfections that cannot be seen under 10x magnification inside the diamond or on the surface of the diamond. While the I3 has defects that can be seen without a micro cabinet. The most common is to have a diamond clarity scale from VVS1-SI2, which we have, below you can see what this means. Of course, other requests can be arranged upon request.

Plumbing1 & Plumbing2

Very small inclusions that are difficult to detect under 10x magnification, with excellent clarity.

VS1 & VS2

Very small inclusions that can be seen under 10 times magnification, but are in most cases invisible to the eye.

SI1 & SI2

Small inclusions that in some cases can be seen without any aids.

What is Carat?

Carat is a weight and is used when weighing diamonds and is usually abbreviated to Ct which stands for carat and Ctw which stands for carat total weight, Ctw is used for example on a ring with diamonds on the rail, as on for example an alliance band, to sum up the whole the carat weight that the ring contains. 1 carat weighs as much as 0.2 grams. The most common is a diamond of 1 ct (carat) and above when it comes to our engagement rings.

The fifth C that is often mentioned stands for "conflict free", which means that the diamonds are conflict free. We only use conflict-free diamonds that have undergone the kimberly process, which means that the diamonds do not originate from any conflict-affected areas. Our diamonds go through the Kimerly process from raw diamonds to finished cut. We only support conflict-free trading of diamonds.

When it comes to diamonds and their certificates, there are many on the market that issue certificates. However, we have chosen to only cooperate with the world leaders in the industry who set high standards and are careful about their certifications. We primarily use GIA for natural diamonds and IGI for lab-grown diamonds.

What is a Diamond Certificate?

In a certificate, the diamond is assessed based on different criteria, this is done on our larger diamonds and it is sent with the order of a ring that has a diamond larger than 0.3 carat weight per diamond. The diamond is assessed based on various criteria such as the 4 C's, etc., which you can read more details about in the text above. The certificates are always registered with the issuer of the certificate and the diamond usually has a laser engraving on the round plate with its certification number which can be seen under 20 times magnification.